Inspiration Comes In All Forms

I’m always finding inspiration in things when I don’t go looking for it. For instance, I just found a blog run by a dear old friend of mine. Her name is Mel.

I’ve known Mel since second grade and to be honest, I never liked her in the beginning. She was everything I wasn’t. Beautiful, funny, friendly, popular. And for a kid (and even for adults sometimes) that’s everything. I was a total loner when I was little. I was going through something I hope no one ever has to go through (no matter what age). And she was just this…goddess everyone seemed to look up to. Even me.

If your reading this Mel, did you know that you were my arch nemesis until I went into 9th grade? I hated you with a passion because I never thought I’d be as good as you. Now, being older, I realize that you’re as human as I am. You make mistakes, I make mistakes.

Back then, I never would have thought we’d ever sit down for coffee and chat or that I’d see you at all. But I’m so glad we did. Even if our paths never cross again, I want to let you know how much you’ve helped me. Not only did I realize I don’t have to be like you to be beautiful (but don’t we all wish), but I also learned friends come in all shapes, sizes, and times. You were there for me when I had no one else to turn to and thank you for that.

But since we’re done talking about all the gushy stuff, I wanna say why Mel is an inspiration for me. This girl has got class. If you look at her outfits posts on her blog you’ll see what I’m talking about. Stylish.

Plus, she’s one of the only people I know who is following her dream and is never letting other people say she’s too young. She’s only a year older than me and she already owns her own photography business along side her (I don’t feel the word boyfriend does their love justice) boyfriend, Chris. I don’t want to grow up to be her anymore, but I do love what she represents. And that’s never letting them tell you no.

Tagged , , ,

leave your thoughts here for the rest of the world to see

