Words of Devotion

Know what’s weird? I actually like to read old books now. Ever since reading Emerson and the like, in Lit class, I actually understand what’s going on in books like Jane Eyre and Pride and Prejudice. I love these books.
Classic romance books. Awesome.
My favorite part are the sweet words shared between the two lovers. So many of these quotes, when you think about it, makes me squirm with giddiness. I honestly don’t know how to say what I want to…Ugh! Frustration.
What I’m trying to say is that the romantic quotes in some of the older books are the best. There like a complicated, sweet mess. 
So without further ado, here are my favorite love quotes from my favorite classic books and other books.
I know what it is to live entirely for and with what I love best on earth. I hold myself supremely blest—blest beyond what language can express; because I am my husband’s life as fully as he is mine. – Jane, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
“…An impulse held me fast, -a force turned me round. I said, -or something in me said for me, and in spirit of me: – “Thank you, Mr. Rochester, for you great kindness. I am strangely glad to get back again to you; and wherever you are is my home–my only home.” Jane, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
“In vain I have struggled.  It will not do.  My feelings will not be repressed.  You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.” Mr. Darcy, Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

“Her astonishment, however, was extreme, and continually was she repeating, “Why is he so altered?  From what can it proceed?  It cannot be for me– it cannot be for my sake that his manners are thus softened.  My reproofs at Hunsford could not work such a change as this. It is impossible that he should still love me.” Elizabeth, Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
It would degrade me to marry Heathcliff now; so he shall never know how I love him: and that, not because he’s handsome, Nelly, but because he’s more myself than I am. Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same; and Linton’s is as different as a moonbeam from lightning, or frost from fire. Catherine, Wurthering Heights by Emily Bronte
“We’ve braved its ghosts often together, and dared each other to stand among the graves and ask them to come. But, Heathcliff, if I dare you now, will you venture? If you do, I’ll keep you. I’ll not lie there by myself: they may bury me twelve feet deep, and throw the church down over me, but I won’t rest till you are with me. I never will!” Catherine, Wurthering Heights by Emily Bronte
leave your thoughts here for the rest of the world to see

