Growing Up Blues

Growing Up Blues
written by Kristie
________ ~ * ~ ________

Yes. I have definitely got a huge case of the growing up blues. What sucks even more is that I know that I’m not even close to being a grown up.
I remember how easy life was during middle school. I’d wake up with half an hour left before I had to head off to school (that’s when I actually got sleep…what is this?). Enough time to shower, dress, eat, and prep myself for the day. Not that I really did any of that.
Then, I’d show up at school and hang out with my friends before first class, which also had 5 or so of my friends in it. I’d go through the day without worrying too much about homework (six pages or so for reading, ten problems in math, and maybe a little project work for SS). Then I’d hang out with my friends after school.
I remember all the adventures we used to get into after school: chasing around a neighbor’s dog, trying to help it’s owner get it back; getting a high school tennis boy to wear a pink sweater we found (which we eventually did); car-pooling with my cousins which meant an hour of fun while my cousin did ice-skating and an insane-laughter filled car ride home.
I never had much to worry about. Don’t get me wrong, there were plenty of horrible things that went on those years, but never too much pressure I felt I couldn’t handle it.
My dreams were alive back then. I’d write stories during Spanish class (and THAT is the reason why I don’t know Spanish like my mom, people). I was never afraid to sing in choir. And I absolutely loved to tutor my friends in math.
Now, it feels like there is so much pressure being pushed down on me from all sides. I have to get a job. I have to keep up my homework for classes. I have to take care of my sister. I have to manage sports.  I have to find colleges to apply too next year.
Whatever happened to being a kid? Is it just kicked out of you once you’re in high school. It’s like now, all of a sudden, we’re going to pull you in all directions and see if you keep up or not. And if you don’t, well, then you’re a loser.
I need to be a kid again. I want to be able to play after school instead of having to do loads of homework. I feel like going out for ice cream with my friends. I realize that I have to grow up eventually, but why does that have to be now? And why must my dreams vanish too?
leave your thoughts here for the rest of the world to see

